Night Time Is The Right Time

It’s 0300. While most of you are sleeping, I’m working.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I love night shift. I really do. I feel my best working in the wee hours of the night. I love the time I can spend with my patients. (Yes, it’s true. Most people don’t sleep all night in the hospital). I am sometimes the only person an elderly patient can talk to when they lay awake at night. Nothing makes me happier than pulling up a chair and listening to my patients tell their story.

All this happens at night.

While you’re sleeping.

This post isn’t about how hard it is to work nights. I think most people know that it’s not for everyone, but for those of us who actually like it and thrive on it, it’s an affirmation. An affirmation to our dedication, our drive, and most of all our work.

We do what most will not.

At night.

Don’t get me wrong, my sleep habits suck while working nights, but thankfully, I only work 3 nights per week, so it’s a sacrifice I gladly make. I have vowed to work on this, and with the help of my sleep-loving boyfriend, I think I’m making some inroads. Time will tell.

So, in the wee hours of the night when you wake up from a deep slumber, remember all those people out there making a difference.

At night.

And tell them thank you.

Oh, and maybe even buy them a coffee.

 

3 thoughts on “Night Time Is The Right Time

  1. I always loved nights in the San Francisco Hospitals, especially UCSF Moffit. Generally things calmed down enough you could get some work done, both residents and nurses, as nurse ‘managers’ and attendings went home and left us the run of the place.

Leave a Reply

