The Last Supper

Tonight, we dine.

Not just any dinner. A very important dinner.

For tonight, we will break bread, share a meal and conversation with the very woman who up until rather recently shared 20 years with the man I now call my boyfriend.

His soon-to-be ex-wife.

Yes. You read that right.

James and I will be having dinner with his soon-to-be ex-wife at her suggestion.

Last week, after their attorney visit to sign paperwork, she wanted to meet up with James and tell him something important. What was important was that she has decided to let all the hatred go. She couldn’t do it any longer. She said that it was simply too exhausting and the energy she expended hating James was poisoning her. She wanted her friend back. She needed her friend again, and she wanted to simply move forward, knowing that he is now sharing his life with me, and that she is sharing her life with someone new as well.

I suppose this may seem rather unorthodox to most, but to us it is the most natural thing in the world.

Why?

Well, because regardless of how you may have found yourself in this here and now, life does go on. It really does. You can choose to hate the person or circumstances that put you here, but in the end,

life goes on.

I won’t lie. I won’t say that I’m not a wee bit nervous about the prospect of coming face-to-face with the very person I caused great pain. I represent part of the very embodiment and catalyst of a marriage ending. That’s heavy shit no matter how you slice it.

I have no idea where the conversation will go tonight, and I have no idea how the dinner will end. I hope it ends with more smiles and laughter than tears or sadness. We’ve all had quite enough of that in recent months.

I have also decided to show up about 45 minutes early for a stiff drink cocktail. I emailed and invited her to join me sans James.

She agreed.

Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “The Last Supper

  1. Loving one person shows how you could love the whole cosmos said the Buddhist monk Thich Nat Hahn: ‎”Through my love for you, I want to express my love for the whole cosmos, the whole of humanity, and all beings. By living with you, I want to learn to love everyone and all species. If I succeed in loving you, I will be able to love everyone and all species on Earth… This is the real message of love.” — Thich Nhat Hanh

  2. That’s amazing that she came to that realization. Allowing one person take up so much of your brain time isn’t healthy and allowing them to “live rent free” in your (her) brain will poison a body. Congrats to her for putting on her big girl pants and the two of you for being brave enough to let it happen.

Leave a Reply

