Passion: It’s Not Just For Cheesy Romance Novels

I have felt drawn to this post for some time now.

I just needed to get the entire content straight in my grey matter before I took the time to draft the post.

Passion.

What does it mean to you? What does it mean to me?

Oh, Fabio!

While it’s true that passion conjures up images of perfectly airbrushed people on the cover of a Harlequin romance paperback, it’s much more than that. For me, passion is more than just a word used to describe love and being in love. Passion is a way of being. A way of becoming. A way of living.

Yes. A way of living.

A life lived without passion is a life devoid of meaning.

Find yourself in a rut, doing the same mundane, droll things day after day? Do you wake up some mornings wondering when it will all end?

I’ll give you a hint.

It all ends the morning that you don’t wake up.

With this in mind, I have always lived a life filled with passion. A passion for life, a passion for work, a passion for hobbies that fulfill me, and a passion for love. Life is meant to be lived, fully and completely. Why half-ass something that only happens once? There are no do-overs. Sorry, but you can’t wake up in 10 years and ask for a pass and the ability to repeat it all over again. Not gonna happen.

A great example of a passion-filled life is when I had just graduated college. I was living with my then boyfriend and we found ourselves bored with what our life had become. We both itched to do something different, to go out in the world and carve out a niche that would be all our own.

I came home from work one day to find him sitting at the kitchen table with a Rand McNally road atlas spread open to the map of the United States.

“You know how we’ve discussed the possibility of moving?” he said.

“Yes,” I replied.

“I want you to take off your necklace. Take the pendant off the chain and hold it in your hand. I’m going to spin you around a few times in front of the atlas. Close your eyes. When I stop you in front of the atlas, before you open your eyes, drop the pendant on the map. We move to wherever your pendant lands.” he said.

I remember looking at him quizzically, but deep down I loved the idea. We were in the perfect position to do this. We had life by the warm and fuzzies, so why the fuck not?

I removed the pendant from the chain and clutched it in my hand. He rose from the kitchen table and proceeded to spin me around three times as I closed my eyes. He stopped me. I held out my arm and dropped the pendant. Eyes opened….

Raleigh, North Carolina.

We moved two months later.

My point of this story is not to encourage you to pack up your home and relocate. My point is that life is short, sweet and filled with possibilities, and there is nothing to be gained by wondering “what if”. What if I made that phone call? What if I took that job? What if I made that move? What if I had gone out on that date? What if I had told someone how I really felt? 

Instead of those “what ifs”,

What if you decided to live life, fully, completely and filled with passion for all that you are and all that you can become?

Dare to be passionate about what truly moves you, whether it be work, home, or love. Don’t hold back.

Wake up in ten years with a smile.

A passionate smile.

Leave a Reply

